The earliest recorded spelling was Chetelbi, in the Domesday Book. This
name comes from Ketil’s (a person) by (village or homestead). Abba was
presumably an early property owner in the area. At the time of the
Domesday Book, the main property owner was Robert de Bucy.
The village stands high up on the Leicestershire Wolds, and consists of a
medieval church, a few farmhouses, and a handful of thatched cottages.
The church was first built in the 14th century. The tower has a
stone spire and clamped buttresses. The north aisle is Victorian.
The earliest recorded spelling is Adelachestone, in the Domesday Book.
It means Eadlac’s (person) tun (settlement). This was looked after
a man called Grimbald, who looked after it under a Countess Judith, at the
time of the Domesday Book. At that time, there were two mills, 5 ploughs,
4 villagers and 4 smallholders. The total value was 20 shillings.
The church was built in the 13th century. The church still
retains it’s medieval arcade and tower, although it was restored in the 19th
century. In one of the windows there are some fragments of 14th
First recorded in the Domesday book as Alfnodestou, this village’s name
means Aelfnoth’s Place.
First recorded in the Domesday book as Alfnodestou, this village’s name means Aelfnoth’s Place.
|The earliest spelling is in the Domesday Book. It is written as Heletone. The name probably comes from ald (old) tun (settlement). The land was rented by Hugh of Grandmesnil to someone called Arnold. There were 25 villagers, , 1 being a man at arms and 4 smallholders. There were 8 ploughs, 1 mill, 4 acres of meadow, woodland 1 league long, and the total value was 60 shillings.|
This village’s first recorded spelling was Anebem, in the Curia Regis Rolls
of 1261. It means ana (one, solitary, isolated) beam (tree), one solitary
tree. The last reference to the village is in 1347. It is probable that this
is an example of a village being completely wiped out in 1349 by the Black
earliest recorded spelling was Anstige, in the Domesday Book. Anstiga
means a narrow footpath up a hill, and probably refers to the tracks that
lead up from the village into the charnwood forest. The Domesday Book
entry for this village tells us that there were 13 villagers, 4
smallholders, 2 ploughs, 8 acres meadow, woodland 1 league long and ½
league wide, with additional woodland 2 furlongs
long and 1 furlong wide. The value of the land was 40s and it was owned by
Hugh of Grandmesnil.
|Appleby Magna and Parva|
|The article for Appleby Magna and Parva is on a separate page, because it includes images. Click HERE to go to the article.|
earliest recorded spelling is
Erendesbi which comes from
Irand’s village or homestead. This is from the Domesday Book, which
also tells us that this was the land of the Bishop of Coutances. It tells
us that there was 1 slave and 1 plough in lordship. Also that there are 3
villagers and 2 smallholders with 1 plough. The land value was 20
The Church is early Norman, although the tower was added in the 14th century. There is also a 400-year-old windmill
Asfordby was first spelled
Osferdevie, meaning Asford’s
village or homestead. In the Domesday Book, the land was owned by the
King. There were 2 mills, 32 acres of meadow, and only 2 villagers for
some reason, even though there were 6 ploughs.
church and bridge were built in the 14th century, although it
does contain some masonry dating back to the 12th century. The
transept window contains some ancient glass, depicting the figures of St.
John, Moses and the Good Shepherd.
|Ashby de la Zouch|
earliest name is Ascebi de la Souche.
The word Ascebi means the village of the ash trees. The word Souche is a French Family name. The Domesday Book tells us that the
land was owned by Hugh of Grandmesnil. There was land for 10 ploughs, 2
slaves, 8 villagers, 9 ploughs, 4 freemen, and 4 smallholders. There was
also a priest and a man at arms. There was woodland 1 league long and 4
mention of this village was in the Domesday Book, although at that time it
was only called Ascbi. This
means village of the ash trees. At a later date, the word Folleville was
added, named after an important person in Normandy. The spelling has since
changed to Folville. The Domesday book tells us that the land was owned by
2 people. In the land owned by the Henry of Ferrers, there were 2
villagers with 1 plough. In the land owned by the Countess Judith, there
were 8 ploughs, 2 slaves, 24 villagers, 3 smallholders, 1 priest, a mill,
40 acres of meadow, a spinney, and a total value of £4.
|Another Ashby. This means the large village of ash trees. All we know from the Domesday Book is that the land was owned by the king and that there were 10 villagers, 2 ploughs and a total value of 16 shillings.|
means the small village of ash
trees. The land was owned by Robert de Bucy. There were 2 ploughs that
worked + one being built. 6 villagers, 1 smallholder who owned a plough, 8
acres of meadow and a total value of 10 shillings.
This village was first recorded in the Domesday book as Exewelle, which
means "The ash trees by the stream" or "The spring by the ash trees".
The church is mainly from the 14th century, and has a Norman arch. There is also a wooden figure of a 14th century Knight.
earliest recording of this name is
Eston in the Episcopal registers of 1209. This means
Est (east) tun (settlement). This was once ome to Robert de Flamville.
village has a 16th century church with a tomb made in 1645.
Upon this tomb are engraved the figures of Sir William Turvil and his wife
with their 5 children. An alabaster figure in Elizabethan armour kneels in
prayer under the chancel arch.
|The earliest spelling was Atreton in 1173. This means Adlraed’s settlement. This village was abandoned at an unknown time.|
|First recorded in the 1046 in the Codex Diplomaticus Aevi Saxonici as Aethelstanetun, this village’s name means Aethelstan’s settlement. The church dates back to the 13th Century.|