Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Picture  Description

NAME: The Castle Hall
LOCATION: Castle View, Leicester
COPYRIGHT OWNER: Semper Eadem 
NOTES: The Castle Hall, part of the original castle complex, was used for centuries as Leicester court. Although it has lost its character externally due to a 17th century facade, internally fragments of the Norman timbered roof still remain.

Underneath the Castle Hall is John of Gaunt's Dungeon, which (legend has it) was used as a dungeon by John when he was Earl of Leicester. Unfortunately, there is no evidence of this, and most likely is was used as a simple storage cellar. 


NAME: The Tudor Gateway
LOCATION: Castle View, Leicester
COPYRIGHT OWNER: Semper Eadem 
NOTES: The Tudor Gateway, near the Castle Hall, was used as the judges chambers when the courts housed in the Hall were in use. 

NAME: The Clock Tower
LOCATION: Eastgates, Leicester
COPYRIGHT OWNER: Semper Eadem 
NOTES: For further information on this building, pleased refer to Daniel J Spencer's article located here.  

NAME: The Clock Tower
LOCATION: Eastgates, Leicester
COPYRIGHT OWNER: George Smith
NOTES: The Clock Tower is shown here in a older photograph, courtesy of George Smith. For further information on this building, pleased refer to Daniel J Spencer's article located here

NAME: The Old Fish Market
LOCATION: The Market Place, Leicester
COPYRIGHT OWNER: Semper Eadem
NOTES: The Old Fish Market was built in 1881. The cast iron building has since been replaced by the Market Centre, built in 1972. The building now houses shops such as the TSB Bank. 

NAME: The Corn Exchange
LOCATION: The Market Place, Leicester
COPYRIGHT OWNER: Semper Eadem
NOTES: The original Corn Exchange was built as a one story in 1850, and an additional story and staircase was added in 1855. After suffering several years of neglect, part of the Corn Exchange is now a cafe.