These arms were granted in January 1930, and the crest
represents Leicestershire's governmental history, and it's economic
In the shield itself,
there are four quarters. The first quarter is the Cinquefoil of the
Beaumont family (the first Earls
of Leicester). In the second quarter is the two tailed lion of
Simon de Montfort, Earl
of Leicester. The third quarter shows a feather, taken from the
arms of John of Gaunt, the last Medieval Earl of Leicester before the
lands were absorbed into the Crown estates. The fourth and final
quarter shows a Black Maunch, which is the sleeve of a medieval dress.
It is taken from the arms of an important Leicestershire family, the
Hastings, who built both Kirby Castle, and Ashby Castle.
represents Leicester's economic history. The bull represents grazing,
and the sheep represents the wool industry. The ducal crown around the
neck of the bull represents Leicestershire's connection with the Duchy
The fox represents fox
hunting in Leicestershire, a practice that has existed since the 17th
century. The hazel leaf on the left of the motto commemorates the
services of Lord Hazlerigg, Lord Lieutenant Leicestershire from
1925-1949, and the martlet was taken from the arms of Sir Robert
Martin, who was Chairman of the County Council from 1924-1960.